by the Forward

Coen Brothers Will Co-Preside Over 68th Cannes Film Festival Jury

Joel and Ethan Coen, the American filmmaker brothers, will be the first co-presidents of the jury for this year’s Cannes Film Festival, the organizers said on Tuesday.

The Coen brothers, who made “Fargo,” “Barton Fink” and “No Country for Old Men,” replace Australian filmmaker Jane Campion, who was last year’s president. The jury will choose the winning films during the 68th edition of the festival that runs from May 13-25 on the French Riviera.

“Cannes is a festival that has been important to us since the very beginning of our career. Presiding over the Jury is a special honor, since we have never heretofore been president of anything,” Joel and Ethan Coen said in a statement given to the organizers.

They were speaking from the “Hail Caesar!” film shoot with George Clooney, Christophe Lambert, Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton, Josh Brolin and Channing Tatum, according to the organizers.

The films in the official selection, and additional members of the jury, will be announced in April.

Coen Brothers Will Co-Preside Over 68th Cannes Film Festival Jury


Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

Coen Brothers Will Co-Preside Over 68th Cannes Film Festival Jury

Thank you!

This article has been sent!