Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

Jersey City Mayor: We Are Proud To Welcome Refugees

On Friday January 27, as President Donald Trump signed an executive order banning refugees from over half a dozen countries, it is important to remember that while such orders have the ability to change policy, they do not have the ability to change our values. Here in Jersey City, we are as proud as ever to be home to immigrants and refugees from all over the world, and we continue to celebrate the value and diversity that these groups bring to our city.

While anti-immigrant and anti-refugee rhetoric has become more common in recent months, as a Jersey City resident, I hope you are proud to live in a place that has shown tremendous character and acceptance and a proven a dedication to the values that make this city unique.

During the past year, Jersey City has welcomed almost 100 families from war-torn Syria. Despite the inflammatory rhetoric from Washington, these Syrian families have been seamlessly and peacefully integrated into our schools and communities.

These families have few options or choices in life. They are some of the most vulnerable people in the world and have experienced unimaginable suffering. Without taking that uncertain step toward finding someplace safe to call home, these families, and their children, would have continued to endure a war that shocked the world. Instead of shunning these families, we should be proud that they feel that Jersey City is welcoming enough to relocate in our neighborhoods.