Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

MeToo: Academia Has Its Fair Share Of Sexual Predators

When I was a graduate student I met a professor at a conference overseas who attended my panel and showed interest in my research. He offered to read my work and provide constructive feedback. Several weeks later he told me he was coming to the country I lived in for a conference and asked if we could meet for coffee to talk about my writing.

We went to a coffee shop. He moved his chair to the side of the table until he was close enough to put his hands on my knees, he leaned forward, stared into my eyes and offered me a post-doc in exchange for sex.

There are a thousand versions of this story in the corridors of academia, the place that I know well. Such as the faculty member who becomes obsessed with his undergraduate student and harasses her until she either submits or drops the course. The department head who dates graduate students. The journal editor who offers a smooth ride to publication for the willing author.

Academia is not alone in allowing this behavior to go unchecked and these experiences are familiar to women in most industries and professions. Since Alyssa Milano called for women to highlight the magnitude of the problem by posting ‘Me too’ on social media if they had experienced sexual harassment, sexual abuse, or rape women have been speaking out. They are giving a voice to those who have experienced unwanted and uninvited attentions. They are giving women a sense of community, and reminding women they are not alone.