Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

Teachers Can’t Hide The Occupation From Our Students

As Yom Ha’atzmaut (Israel Independence Day) came and went, alongside the news of 39 Palestinian protesters killed along the Gaza fence (including 15 year old Mohammed Ayoub), I was once again forced to reckon with the version of Israel that I was taught as a student — and the perspective I offer my students as a teacher. As a teenager, I learned about Israel through images: grainy black-and-whites of labor Zionists working the land, beatific soldiers astride the recently recaptured Western Wall, and sleek beachgoers luxuriating in the Mediterranean sea, a modern urban skyline in the background. What was kept from me then were images of the the occupation, of pulverized houses, of bloody civilians and of terrified children.

I’m a history teacher now, and I am in the midst of a painful protracted effort to unearth my bias, to lay claim to my lies, and now to affirm what I know to be the truth. I previously taught at a Jewish day school in Los Angeles and witnessed my students see—and not see—almost the same images as I did. Posters around the school boasted of Israel’s inventions: SMS texting, drip irrigation and the uzi. The occupation or lives of Palestinians never appeared. Even on the maps of Israel around the school, the borders of West Bank and Gaza were invisible.

This year, in the brand new progressive high school I helped pioneer, I taught a class on Israel and Palestine and I knew it had to be different from traditional education around Israel and Palestine.

My Israel education was effective. It did its job and for years as an adult I did what was expected of me as an American Jew: I defended Israel at all costs, I saw Palestinians only as threats to Israel’s “security,” I justified their disenfranchisement as well as the land expropriation and violence committed against them.