Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

I’m a professional comic. Here’s why you need to laugh about this pandemic.

The pandemic has brought serious challenges: people losing their health, their jobs, not to mention the COVID-19 pound weight gain. In short, there is nothing funny about the coronavirus.

Or is there?

COVID-19 takes away our sense of taste and smell. But there’s something it can’t – and shouldn’t– take away– our sense of humor. That’s key to helping us cope during these stressful times.

Laughter, like supermarkets, should be considered an essential business. Our mental health depends on it. Studies show laughter relieves stress, soothes tension, relieves pain, improves your mood, boosts your immune system, resolves conflict and just feels good.

Have you ever noticed that joking about a problem can make it more manageable? That’s because at its core, comedy is about telling the truth, in an unexpected and counterintuitive way.

In my online Comedy Workshop when discussing how long it takes to get Covid-19 test results back, this joke popped out of my mouth:

I’ll tell some of these coronavirus jokes now, but you’ll have to wait two weeks to see if you got them.

The entire Zoom workshop exploded into stress-reducing laughter… As Stephen Colbert wisely notes, “You can’t laugh and be afraid at the same time.”

Actually, laughter and the virus have something in common–they’re both contagious. Rather than spreading fear, why not learn some comedy techniques to spread humor? With no vaccine against COVID-19 in sight, laughter just might be the best medicine. As a matter of fact, it may be the only medicine.

Over years of teaching comedy workshops, I’ve developed techniques for turning problems into punchlines. I’ve taught these techniques to software engineers, accountants, even, the most unfunny, dentists. In these uncertain and often unnerving times, they are more important than ever.

1. Your life is a joke