Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

I graduated early to hike the Appalachian Trail. Now I’m stuck inside.

The author hiking.

The author hiking. Image by Tal Mars

I should have been on the Appalachian Trail right now. I am a high school graduate and have been for the last six months — I finished high school a semester early in order to start the Appalachian Trail in April 2020, planning to then begin college after a gap year. Ditching my senior prom to walk across fourteen states sounded like the story I want my future children to admire me for. So my plans to hike the 2,100-mile footpath from Georgia to Maine were pretty much foolproof — or so I thought. As the nothing-but-COVID news notifications amassed on my phone, my heart began to sink; no, I would not be hiking in 2020.

This prospective adventure had controlled every part of my life — in the best of ways. Not only would it benefit me physically, but the trail preparation took me on a journey mentally, forcing me to ask new questions about what it could mean to walk mindfully and spiritually in the wilderness for six months. As I readied myself for the trail, I wondered if I would be happy with what I might discover about myself and others. Would hiking this long be worth momentary awareness? My mind constantly drifted to a third-person daydream; I would see myself (but with thickly muscled calves) summiting skyscraping mountains while I answered the most complex questions of my life to the tune of “Take Me Home, Country Roads.” I had such a perfect vision of it all. When we had to shelter in place, I was forced to ask the very same questions, only now from the “great indoors”.

Just before the pandemic set in and made in-person convenings impossible, I participated in the concluding seminar for The Bronfman Fellowship, a program in which I took part through 2019 and 2020. The seminar’s theme of “Visions” seems apropos, looking back.