Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

What a Jewish high school history teacher learned by speaking with Muslims

I grew up in the aftermath of the Holocaust. My fifth grade Talmud teacher had a tattoo from Auschwitz on his forearm. During the month of April, which commemorates the Holocaust, the lunchroom had photos from the ghettos and concentration camps hung on the walls. As a teenager, I visited the death camps and saw the shoes and suitcases of those murdered, and imagined myself in that place. As a young man I studied in Vienna and lived in Israel, undertaking a journey in search of some understanding of how the Holocaust could have occurred.

At YULA Boys high school I teach modern Israeli and European history. For this labor of love I have created a curriculum that blends what is found in the universal textbooks with Jewish history. It is the story of my own intellectual journey, which began for me during my first trip to England. On Erev Yom Kippur I was in York, searching for a synagogue, but instead, came across a plaque commemorating the destruction of the Jewish community in 1290. In many of the places I travelled to, I bore witness to where my people suffered horribly at the hands of their neighbors. As I study and travel I have come to realize that it also marks the worlds of many other peoples. But in the aftermath of the Holocaust the suffering of my people, the Jewish people, seemed to overshadow the sufferings of others.