Skip To Content
Get Our Newsletter

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe

Bernstein Book Award Finalists Include Masha Gessen, Joshua Green

The finalists for this year’s Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism, awarded annually by the New York Public Library, include Masha Gessen, Jessica Bruder and Joshua Green.

The award, established in 1988, comes with a prize of $15,000. This year’s winner will be announced on May 21.

Masha Gessen’s “The Future is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia”, Jessica Bruder’s “Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-First Century”, Joshua Green’s “Devil’s Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency”, Sheela Kolhatkar’s “Black Edge: Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street” and Dan Egan’s “The Death and Life of the Great Lakes” are the finalists for this year’s prize.

The 2017 prize was awarded to Jane Mayer for “Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right.” The prize is named for the journalist Helen Bernstein Fealy.




Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free under an Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives Creative Commons license as long as you follow our republishing guidelines, which require that you credit Foward and retain our pixel. See our full guidelines for more information.

To republish, copy the HTML, which includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline, and credit to Foward. Have questions? Please email us at

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.