Sami Rohr Prize Finalists Include Ilana Kurshan, Yair Mintzker by the Forward

Sami Rohr Prize Finalists Include Ilana Kurshan, Yair Mintzker

The finalists for the 2018 Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature, announced today, are Ilana Kurshan’s “If All the Seas Were Ink,” Sara Yael Hirschhorn’s “City on a Hilltop: American Jews and the Israeli Settler Movement,” Shari Rabin’s “Jews on the Frontier: Religion and Mobility in Nineteenth-Century America,” Yair Mintzker’s “The Many Deaths of Jew Süss: The Notorious Trial and Execution of an Eighteenth-Century Court Jew” and Chanan Tigay’s “The Lost Book of Moses: The Hunt for the World’s Oldest Bible.”

The Sami Rohr Prize, awarded annually by the Jewish Book Council, is awarded to fiction and nonfiction books in alternating years. Idra Novey won the 2017 award for her novel “Ways to Disappear.” The last nonfiction winner, from 2016, was Lisa Moses Leff for “The Archive Thief: The Man Who Salvaged French Jewish History in the Wake of the Holocaust.”

Both Kurshan and Tigay are contributors to the Forward. In a 2016 review for the Forward, Julia M. Klein wrote of “The Lost Book of Moses” that “Tigay deserves credit for tenacity, creativity and overcoming jet lag. His travels take him to archives, attics, basements, museums, churches and other landmarks in Israel, Jordan, the Netherlands, Germany, France, England and even Australia.” While the other finalists have not been officially reviewed in the Forward, Yehuda Kurtzer wrote that Kurshan’s “If All the Seas Were Ink” is “magnificent,” and Shulem Deen deemed Rabin’s “Jews on the Frontier” “slim but fascinating.”


Talya Zax

Talya Zax

Talya Zax is the Forward’s innovation editor. Contact her at or on Twitter, @TalyaZax.

Sami Rohr Prize Finalists: Kurshan, Mintzker And More

Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

Sami Rohr Prize Finalists Include Ilana Kurshan, Yair Mintzker

Thank you!

This article has been sent!