Skip To Content
Fast Forward

Jon Ossoff leads group of 29 senators urging ceasefire

Georgia Sen. Jon Ossoff is heading up a group of 29 senators — a majority of the Democratic caucus — who are calling for an immediate ceasefire as the conflict between Israel and Hamas rages into a second week.

“To prevent any further loss of civilian life and to prevent further escalation of conflict in Israel and the Palestinian territories, we urge an immediate ceasefire,” reads the senators’ joint statement, released Sunday. Those who signed on include Bernie Sanders of Vermont, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota and Raphael Warnock of Georgia.

On Monday Secretary of State Tony Blinken said the U.S. was working hard to quell hostilities, but would not push for an immediate ceasefire, saying it was up to the parties to decide when the time was right.

Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, who, like Ossoff, is Jewish, is not calling for a ceasefire, saying that Israel has a right to continue to defend itself.

The other senators who signed on to the statement are Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin, Michael Bennet of Colorado, Sherrod Brown of Ohio, Cory Booker of New Jersey, Tom Carper of Delaware, Tammy Duckworth of Illinois, Dick Durbin of Illinois, Martin Heinrich of New Mexico, Mazie Hirono of Hawaii, Tim Kaine of Virginia, Angus King of Maine, Patrick Leahy of Vermont, Ben Ray Lujan of New Mexico, Ed Markey of Massachusetts, Jeff Merkley of Oregon, Chris Murphy of Connecticut, Patty Murray of Washington, Jack Reed of Rhode Island, Brian Schatz of Hawaii, Tina Smith of Minnesota, Jon Tester of Montana, Chris Van Hollen of Maryland, Mark Warner of Virginia, Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts and Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island.

All senators joining Ossoff are Democrats except for King and Sanders, who are Independents.


Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free, unless it originated with JTA, Haaretz or another publication (as indicated on the article) and as long as you follow our guidelines. You must credit the Forward, retain our pixel and preserve our canonical link in Google search.  See our full guidelines for more information, and this guide for detail about canonical URLs.

To republish, copy the HTML by clicking on the yellow button to the right; it includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline and credit to the Forward. It does not include images; to avoid copyright violations, you must add them manually, following our guidelines. Please email us at [email protected], subject line “republish,” with any questions or to let us know what stories you’re picking up.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.