Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe
News

What Is Hametz?

During the holiday of Passover, Jews must abstain from eating hametz. When any of the five grains, wheat, barley, rye, spelt or oats, comes into contact with water and leavening can occur, it is considered hametz. When the Jews left Egypt during the Exodus, they did not have time to let their dough rise, so they baked it in unleavened loaves. To remember the haste with which they left, we do not eat any products that may have leavened, and we eat matzo instead.

Contact Shira Hanau at [email protected]

Engage

Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free, unless it originated with JTA, Haaretz or another publication (as indicated on the article) and as long as you follow our guidelines. You must credit the Forward, retain our pixel and preserve our canonical link in Google search.  See our full guidelines for more information, and this guide for detail about canonical URLs.

To republish, copy the HTML by clicking on the yellow button to the right; it includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline and credit to the Forward. It does not include images; to avoid copyright violations, you must add them manually, following our guidelines. Please email us at [email protected], subject line “republish,” with any questions or to let us know what stories you’re picking up.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.