Forward Picks Up Seven Journalism Awards

The Forward won seven 2004 Simon Rockower Awards for Excellence in Jewish journalism. The awards were announced June 23 in Boston, at the annual meeting of the American Jewish Press Association.

Editor J.J. Goldberg took top honors in editorial writing, with his December 10, 2004, piece, “Hanukkah, Forever New.” The Forward’s annual Genetics supplement snagged the top prize for special sections.

The rest of the newspaper’s winners took third place in their respective categories. These honorees were managing editor Wayne Hoffman for his profile of pop singer Neil Sedaka; Chemi Shalev for his news reporting about tensions between Israel and New Zealand; Nacha Cattan and Nathaniel Popper for their comprehensive coverage of Holocaust restitution; Marina Benjamin, in the feature-writing category, for her “Letter From Baghdad,” and Marjorie Ingall — better known as the East Village Mamele — for her commentary.

Magazines and newspapers, large and small, won Rockowers. Hadassah was the big winner among magazines, picking up a dozen awards. However, Moment claimed the first-place slot more often, winning in five categories ranging from commentary to arts criticism.

This year, a category was added for coverage of the 350th anniversary of the arrival of Jews in America. Sh’ma, a Massachusetts-based journal, won for its coverage.

Recommend this article

Forward Picks Up Seven Journalism Awards

Thank you!

This article has been sent!