Sami Rohr Prize Finalists Announced

The Jewish Book Council has announced the finalists for this year’s Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature. The $100,000 prize is one of the largest literary awards in the world and recognizes emerging writers who examine the Jewish experience. It is given for fiction and non-fiction in alternating years.

This year’s fiction finalists include Shani Boianjiu for “The People Of Forever Are Not Afraid”; Ben Lerner for “Leaving Atocha Station”; Stuart Nadler for “The Book of Life”; Asaf Schurr for “Motti” (translated by Todd Hasak Lowy) and Francesca Segal for “The Innocents.” The winner will be announced in April and will be celebrated at a gala in New York City at the end of May.