Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

Stop Alienating Jews Of Color In Synagogue

Last week, Marra went to synagogue in her adopted hometown for the first time. She was not greeted warmly.

As she entered the synagogue, she was pointedly asked, “Are you invited to be here?”

Not dissuaded — a Hollywood producer by trade, she is not easily daunted — she let the questioner know that she was Jewish and was there to pray.

After a few other less than warm interactions, she left. To add insult to injury, after the incident, many individuals whom she told about the incident insisted that she hadn’t understood; in some inexplicable way, the blame for their fears lay with her.

This happened the week after the Pittsburgh shooting. But accosting a Jew of color who enters a synagogue isn’t due caution, it’s discrimination.

This isn’t the story we want to hear. This would never happen in the congregation where we go. But it did and it does, all the time.

I have known Marra most of my life. Her family was a fixture in the congregation I joined in high school. Marra is beautiful, and though her parents often told her that was why people would stare at her in synagogue. It wasn’t the truth. Marra is a Jew of color, a biracial adoptee.

Though the population of Jews of color has been growing steadily, especially in recent years, in the 1970s, Marra and her family were somewhat of an oddity. I admit that when we met, I too was curious about her origins, curious how a black person fit into my Jewish community.

Nearly forty years later, people are still questioning her place in the synagogue. It’s not official policy or even mal-intent, yet my friend has been the object of stares too many times to number.

She has been assumed to be the nanny or beloved housekeeper at B’nai mitzvah services; she has been shown the kitchen or the room where the band is rehearsing.
She is presumed to be an outsider in a place she has come for celebration or community or comfort.