Skip To Content

Naomi Alderman Named Finalist For Baileys Women’s Prize For Fiction

British-Jewish novelist Naomi Alderman is among the six finalists for this year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. Alderman, whose nominated novel “The Power” imagines a world in which women suddenly invert the gender status quo, forcing men into fearful seclusion, previously won the 2006 Orange Prize for Fiction for her novel “Disobedience.”

That prize became the Bailey’s Women’s Prize in 2014.

Alderman wrote “The Power” while being mentored by Canadian novelist Margaret Atwood, to whom the book is dedicated. The shortlist for the Bailey’s Women’s Prize also includes Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀’s “Stay With Me,” Linda Grant’s “The Dark Circle,” C.E. Morgan’s “The Sport of Kings,” Gwendoline Riley’s “First Love,” and Madeleine Thien’s “Do Not Say We Have Nothing.”

The winner of the Prize will be announced on June 7.

A message from our editor-in-chief Jodi Rudoren

We're building on 127 years of independent journalism to help you develop deeper connections to what it means to be Jewish today.

With so much at stake for the Jewish people right now — war, rising antisemitism, a high-stakes U.S. presidential election — American Jews depend on the Forward's perspective, integrity and courage.

—  Jodi Rudoren, Editor-in-Chief 

Join our mission to tell the Jewish story fully and fairly.

Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free, unless it originated with JTA, Haaretz or another publication (as indicated on the article) and as long as you follow our guidelines. You must credit the Forward, retain our pixel and preserve our canonical link in Google search.  See our full guidelines for more information, and this guide for detail about canonical URLs.

To republish, copy the HTML by clicking on the yellow button to the right; it includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline and credit to the Forward. It does not include images; to avoid copyright violations, you must add them manually, following our guidelines. Please email us at [email protected], subject line “republish,” with any questions or to let us know what stories you’re picking up.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.