Paula Vogel, Avram Finkelstein Finalists For Lambda Literary Awards by the Forward

Paula Vogel, Avram Finkelstein Finalists For Lambda Literary Awards

Finalists for the 2018 Lambda Literary Awards, announced today, include Paula Vogel, Annalee Newitz, Avram Finkelstein and Bill Goldstein. The Awards, which recognize achievement in LGBTQ literature, honor works published in the previous year in a variety of genres, from mystery novels to academic texts. This year’s Awards will be presented on June 4.

Vogel is a finalist for the prize in LGBTQ drama for her play “Indecent”; Newitz is a finalist in LGBTQ science fiction, fantasy and horror for her novel “Autonomous”; Finkelstein is a finalist in the category of LGBTQ nonfiction for his book “After Silence”; and Bill Goldstein is a finalist in the category of gay memoir/biography for “The World Broke in Two: Virginia Woolf, T.S. Eliot, D.H. Lawrence, E.M. Forster, and the Year That Changed Literature.”

Roxane Gay, Carmen Maria Machado, Janet Mock, Eileen Myles and Danez Smith are also among the finalists for this year’s Awards. Find the full list of finalists here.

This story "Lambda Literary Awards Finalists: Vogel, Newitz & More" was written by Talya Zax.


Talya Zax

Talya Zax

Talya Zax is the Forward’s deputy culture editor. Contact her at or on Twitter, @TalyaZax.

Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

Paula Vogel, Avram Finkelstein Finalists For Lambda Literary Awards

Thank you!

This article has been sent!