Paula Vogel’s ‘Indecent’ Heading To Broadway

Fans of Paula Vogel, Yiddish Theater, and equality in the arts rejoice: Vogel’s play “Indecent,” which made its New York debut off-Broadway at the Vineyard Theater last April, will be hitting Broadway this coming spring.

On Wednesday, producers Daryl Roth, Elizabeth Ireland McCann and Cody Lassen announced that, starting in April 2017, “Indecent,” which Vogel created with director Rebecca Taichman, will occupy one of Broadway’s Shubert theatres. (The specific theater was not named.) The production will mark Vogel’s long-awaited Broadway debut. She will be one of only a few women playwrights making appearances during this Broadway season; others include Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Sara Wordsworth, who co-wrote “In Transit” with James Allen-Ford and Russ Kaplan, Irene Sankoff, who co-wrote “Come From Away” with David Hein, and Lillian Hellman, whose “The Little Foxes” opens in April.

Speaking to the Forward in May, Vogel said she “would put on a sandwich board and walk the street in front of the theater every night” to see “Indecent” hit Broadway. We’ll hazard she won’t have to take it quite that far.

Talya Zax is the Forward’s culture fellow. Contact her at zax@forward.com or on Twitter, @TalyaZax

Author

Talya Zax

Talya Zax

Talya Zax is the Forward’s culture fellow. Contact her at zax@forward.com or on Twitter, @TalyaZax.

Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

Paula Vogel’s ‘Indecent’ Heading To Broadway

Thank you!

This article has been sent!

Close