Amos Oz And David Grossman Make Man Booker Prize Longlist

Israeli authors Amos Oz and David Grossman have been named to the longlist for the 2017 Man Booker Prize. The prize, granted annually, is a prestigious award for English-language literature.

Oz was nominated for his first novel in a decade, “Judas.” Grossman was nominated for his tragicomic “A Horse Walks Into a Bar.”

The longlist, which includes 13 books, features a diverse array of authors, from the Argentinian Samantha Schweblin’s “Fever Dream” to the Albanian Ismail Kadare’s “The Traitor’s Niche.” The shortlist, which will include the six entries from the longlist chosen as finalists for the prize, will be released on April 20. The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced on June 14.

Previous winners of the Man Booker include Hilary Mantel, J.M. Coetzee, and Anne Enright. In 2016 the prize was awarded to the American Paul Beatty for “The Sellout,” a novel that prompted the Forward’s Adam Langer to ask whether Beatty might be the next Philip Roth.

View the year’s complete longlist, here.


Talya Zax

Talya Zax

Talya Zax is the Forward’s culture fellow. Contact her at or on Twitter, @TalyaZax.

Recommend this article

Amos Oz And David Grossman Make Man Booker Prize Longlist

Thank you!

This article has been sent!