Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

Do Israeli politics pose a risk to American Judaism?

When I was a graduate student studying ancient Jewish History, I had to pour through hundreds of primary sources — each with their own bias and agenda — in an attempt to arrive at somewhat of an objective picture of a historical situation.

In a couple hundred years, when future Jewish historians want to understand our current moment, it seems that all they will need is Facebook and Twitter records.

I can imagine a budding school of thought among Jewish social media historians, one that focuses not on any of the explicit factors surrounding various posts, but rather how the algorithms decide to spread it. As we are increasingly discovering, social media, in an attempt to maximize our time spent on the platform, predominantly shows us things that we want to see — even if we don’t realize it.

In my daily life as a rabbi and Jewish educator I use social media as a teaching tool. While I’m not popular enough to be the center of any future study (perhaps I’ll merit a footnote in a dissertation) I often analyze responses and views on my own social media as a good indicator of what our wider community is thinking about and interested in.

When it comes to my Facebook audience of mostly American Jews, I have noticed an interesting, alarming and even potentially disastrous trend. All of my posts, aside from the occasional rock climbing photo, have to do with either Judaism or Israel. Yet Facebook alerts me that my posts about Israel get viewed and interacted with exponentially more than those about Judaism.