Skip To Content
Get Our Newsletter
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe
Culture

Paula Vogel’s ‘Indecent’ Heading To Broadway

Fans of Paula Vogel, Yiddish Theater, and equality in the arts rejoice: Vogel’s play “Indecent,” which made its New York debut off-Broadway at the Vineyard Theater last April, will be hitting Broadway this coming spring.

On Wednesday, producers Daryl Roth, Elizabeth Ireland McCann and Cody Lassen announced that, starting in April 2017, “Indecent,” which Vogel created with director Rebecca Taichman, will occupy one of Broadway’s Shubert theatres. (The specific theater was not named.) The production will mark Vogel’s long-awaited Broadway debut. She will be one of only a few women playwrights making appearances during this Broadway season; others include Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Sara Wordsworth, who co-wrote “In Transit” with James Allen-Ford and Russ Kaplan, Irene Sankoff, who co-wrote “Come From Away” with David Hein, and Lillian Hellman, whose “The Little Foxes” opens in April.

Speaking to the Forward in May, Vogel said she “would put on a sandwich board and walk the street in front of the theater every night” to see “Indecent” hit Broadway. We’ll hazard she won’t have to take it quite that far.

Talya Zax is the Forward’s culture fellow. Contact her at zax@forward.com or on Twitter, @TalyaZax

Engage

  • SHARE YOUR FEEDBACK

  • UPCOMING EVENT

    NY-12 Candidate Forum

    THE TEMPLE EMANU-EL STREICKER CENTER and Virtual

    Aug 10, 2022

    7 pm ET · 

    Will the last Jew left in New York’s congressional delegation be reelected? Will New York’s senior congresswoman receive another term? Or will one of the newcomers upend Manhattan politics?

Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free under an Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives Creative Commons license as long as you follow our republishing guidelines, which require that you credit the Foward and retain our pixel. See our full guidelines for more information.

To republish, copy the HTML, which includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline, images, and credit to the Foward. Have questions? Please email us at editorial@forward.com.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.