Skip To Content

Deborah Lipstadt, Etgar Keret and Ilya Kaminsky take home National Jewish Book Awards

Updated, January 17, 4:32 pm: This story has been updated to include a list to the complete list of winners of the 2019 awards.

Short tales of whimsy, a new translation of the Bible, unsung American matriarchs and two rousing calls to combat the so-called “oldest hatred:” These are the winners of the 69th Annual Jewish Book Awards.

A trio of recognizable scholars led this year’s awards. In nonfiction, Pamela S. Nadell won the Everett Family Foundation Book of the Year award for her ambitious “America’s Jewish Women: A History from Colonial Times to Today.” Legendary Hebrew professor Robert Alter received a Lifetime Achievement Award for the completion of his decades-long opus, “The Hebrew Bible: A Translation with Commentary.” And Forward contributing columnist Deborah E. Lipstadt was awarded the Jew­ish Edu­ca­tion and Iden­ti­ty Award in Mem­o­ry of Dorothy Krip­ke for “Antisemitism: Here and Now.”

Journalists also made a splash. The New York Times columnist Bari Weiss received the award for Con­tem­po­rary Jewish Life and Prac­tice in Mem­o­ry of Myra H. Kraft for her book “How to Fight Anti-Semitism.” Daniel Okrent won the Ger­rard and Ella Berman Memo­r­i­al Award for His­to­ry for “The Guard­ed Gate: Big­otry, Eugen­ics and the Law That Kept Two Gen­er­a­tions of Jews, Ital­ians, and Oth­er Euro­pean Immi­grants Out of Amer­i­ca.” And Dani Shapiro won the Krauss Fam­i­ly Auto­bi­og­ra­phy & Mem­oir Award for her chronicle of genetic self-discovery, “Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love.”

Rounding out the nonfiction categories, the inau­gur­al Jane and Stu­art Weitz­man Fam­i­ly Award for Food Writ­ing and Cook­books was awarded to András Koern­e’s tantalizing “Jew­ish Cui­sine in Hun­gary: A Cul­tur­al His­to­ry with 83 Authen­tic Recipes.” David E. Lowe was honored with the sec­ond annu­al Biog­ra­phy Award in Mem­o­ry of Sara Beren­son Stone for his book “Touched with Fire: Mor­ris B. Abram and the Bat­tle against Racial and Reli­gious Dis­crim­i­na­tion.” And Michael Dobbs earned the 2019 Holo­caust Award in Mem­o­ry of Ernest W. Michel for “The Unwant­ed: Amer­i­ca, Auschwitz, and a Vil­lage Caught In Between.”

All the top fiction honors went to writers receiving their first Nation­al Jew­ish Book Awards. Israeli author Etgar Keret took home the JJ Green­berg Memo­r­i­al Award Michael for Fic­tion for his collection “Fly Already: Stories.” Alice Hoffman won the Miller Family Book Club Award in Mem­o­ry of Helen Dunn Wein­stein and June Keit Miller for her World War II-era novel, “The World That We Knew.” First-time novelist Sarah Blake received the Gold­berg Prize for Debut Fiction for “Naamah,” which tells the story of Noah’s Ark through the eyes of Noah’s wife.

Ilya Kaminsky’s “Deaf Republic” which was a finalist for a 2019 National Book Award, won the Berru Award in Mem­o­ry of Ruth and Bernie Wein­flash in the Poet­ry category.

Author Lesléa New­man and illustrator Amy June Bates won the Children’s Literature category for “Gittel’s Journey: An Ellis Island Story,” while Rachel DeWoskin received Young Adult Award for “Someday We Will Fly.”

Honoring those who helped authors along the way, the Mentorship Award in Hon­or of Car­olyn Star­man Hes­sel goes to Dena W. Neusner, Executive Editor at Behrman House and Apples & Honey Press. And Shimon Adaf is the 2020 win­ner of the Paper Brigade Award for New Israeli Fic­tion in Hon­or of Jane Weitz­man.

Winners of the 2019 awards will be honored March 17, 2020 at an awards dinner at the Bohemian National Hall in Manhattan. For a complete list of those honored, see here.

PJ Grisar is the Forward’s culture fellow. He can be reached at [email protected]

I hope you appreciated this article. Before you go, I’d like to ask you to please support the Forward’s award-winning, nonprofit journalism during this critical time.

Now more than ever, American Jews need independent news they can trust, with reporting driven by truth, not ideology. We serve you, not any ideological agenda.

At a time when other newsrooms are closing or cutting back, the Forward has removed its paywall and invested additional resources to report on the ground from Israel and around the U.S. on the impact of the war, rising antisemitism and the protests on college campuses.

Readers like you make it all possible. Support our work by becoming a Forward Member and connect with our journalism and your community.

Make a gift of any size and become a Forward member today. You’ll support our mission to tell the American Jewish story fully and fairly. 

— Rachel Fishman Feddersen, Publisher and CEO

Join our mission to tell the Jewish story fully and fairly.

Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free, unless it originated with JTA, Haaretz or another publication (as indicated on the article) and as long as you follow our guidelines. You must credit the Forward, retain our pixel and preserve our canonical link in Google search.  See our full guidelines for more information, and this guide for detail about canonical URLs.

To republish, copy the HTML by clicking on the yellow button to the right; it includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline and credit to the Forward. It does not include images; to avoid copyright violations, you must add them manually, following our guidelines. Please email us at [email protected], subject line “republish,” with any questions or to let us know what stories you’re picking up.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.