White nationalist website might be dropped by webpage provider by the Forward

White nationalist website might be dropped by webpage provider

Image by Pixabay

An internet company that registers a domain name for the white nationalist website VDARE.com has threatened to delist the site.

If VDARE.com does not transfer the domain before this Thursday, Network Solutions, the registrar, said it will delete the site, making it accessible only through the dark web.

The possible action comes after a civil rights group, Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, sent letters to the registrar asking it to decline service to VDARE and another racist website whose domain name includes the n-word.

In one of the letters, Kristen Clarke, the group’s president and executive director, wrote that VDARE “continues to peddle anti-immigrant and anti-Black hate.”

The Southern Poverty Law Center said the site “regularly publishes articles by prominent white nationalists, race scientists and anti-Semites” like Kevin MacDonald, a professor who believes Jews are trying to undermine white supremacy by advocating for immigrants.

VDARE’s Facebook accounts were removed last month by the social media platform.

VDARE will join the ranks of the Daily Stormer, Gab and 8chan, websites that published white nationalist content that were kicked off mainstream internet platforms. Gab has found a new registrar and 8chan has been relaunched as 8kun.

Molly Boigon is an investigative reporter at the Forward. Contact her at boigon@forward.com or follow her on Twitter @MollyBoigon.

VDARE.com’s internet registrar might delete the site


Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

White nationalist website might be dropped by webpage provider

Thank you!

This article has been sent!