Skip To Content
JEWISH. INDEPENDENT. NONPROFIT.
Community

Despite An Active Anti-Israel Community, Columbia Is A Place Where Jews Thrive

Pundits have called this year the beginning of a new post-fact order, and a recent ranking of colleges by the Algemeiner lends credence to that classification.

In a list entitled “The 40 Worst Colleges for Jewish Students, 2016,” the Algemeiner ranks Columbia University as #1. I graduated from Columbia University just this week, and I couldn’t have imagined a better environment for Jewish students on campus, so I was baffled to see its place atop the list.

The Algemeiner claims that “among the many factors taken into account in the compilation of this list are: the number of antisemitic incidents on each campus; the number of anti-Israel groups, and the extent to which they are active; the Jewish student population, and number of Jewish pro-Israel groups; the availability of Jewish resources on campus; the success or lack thereof of Israel boycott efforts; and the public positions of faculty members with respect to BDS.”

Let’s break down some of these categories.

Number of antisemitic incidents: Too few to count.
Number of anti-Israel groups: 2 (why is this relevant to the anti-Semitic nature of a campus?)
Jewish Student Population: 1500 undergraduates
Number of Jewish pro-Israel groups: at least four
> Availability of Jewish resources on campus: readily available
Success or lack thereof of Israel Boycott efforts: unsuccessful
Public positions of faculty members with Respect to BDS: Over 200 Columbia faculty and administrators called on the University Trustees NOT to divest