Skip To Content
Get Our Newsletter

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe
Fast Forward

Forward Writer Is Finalist as Daniel Gordis and Michael Chabon Win National Jewish Book Awards

Winners of the 2016 National Jewish Book Awards, announced this morning by the Jewish Book Council, include Daniel Gordis, whose “Israel: A Concise History of a Nation Reborn” won Book of the Year, Rose Tremain, who won the JJ Greenberg Memorial Award in Fiction for “The Gustav Sonata,” and Michael Chabon, who was awarded the Modern Jewish Literary Achievement Award for his novel “Moonglow.”

“Have I Got a Story For You: More Than a Century of Fiction From the Forward,” edited by the Forward’s critic-at-large Ezra Glinter was a finalist for the award for Anthologies and Collections. That award was won by “Makers of Jewish Modernity: Thinkers, Artists, Leaders, and the World They Made,” edited by Jacques Picard, Jacques Revel, Michael P. Steinber, and Idith Zertal.

The National Jewish Book Awards have been presented annually since 1950. A full list of winners can be found here.




Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free under an Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives Creative Commons license as long as you follow our republishing guidelines, which require that you credit Foward and retain our pixel. See our full guidelines for more information.

To republish, copy the HTML, which includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline, and credit to Foward. Have questions? Please email us at

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.