Skip To Content

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe
The Schmooze

Molly Antopol Wins Hadassah Fiction Award

Author Molly Antopol has been named winner of Hadassah Magazine’s 2015 Harold U. Ribalow Prize for Jewish fiction.

Antopol, author of the short-story collection “The UnAmericans,” will be honored at a ceremony in New York on Dec. 1.

The prize has been awarded annually for the past 31 years to authors who create “an outstanding work of fiction on a Jewish theme,” according to a news release issued by Hadassah on Wednesday.

“The UnAmericans,” Antopol’s debut story collection, explores the “everyday anxieties and complex past lives” of immigrant characters in various locales, the news release says. A review in The New York Times said the book “has poise and gravity” and described the stories as “bleakly funny.”

Antopol’s book, published by W.W. Norton, was one of three nominated for this year’s Ribalow Prize. The other nominees were “The Mathematician’s Shiva” by Stuart Rojstaczer (Penguin/Random House) and “The Betrayers” by David Bezmozgis (Back Bay Books/Little Brown).

The independent panel of judges for the prize consisted of Pulitzer Prize winner N. Scott Momaday; 2014 Ribalow Award winner Helene Wecker; and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Elie Wiesel.

“I am thrilled to be this year’s recipient of the Ribalow Prize,” said Antopol in a statement. “Many of the previous winners are among the writers whose books have been very meaningful to me over the years, and I greatly admire the work of the two other finalists.”

“The UnAmericans” also won the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award and the “5 Under 35” award from the National Book Foundation.


Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free, unless it originated with JTA, Haaretz or another publication (as indicated on the article) and as long as you follow our guidelines. You must credit the Forward, retain our pixel and preserve our canonical link in Google search.  See our full guidelines for more information, and this guide for detail about canonical URLs.

To republish, copy the HTML by clicking on the yellow button to the right; it includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline and credit to the Forward. It does not include images; to avoid copyright violations, you must add them manually, following our guidelines. Please email us at [email protected], subject line “republish,” with any questions or to let us know what stories you’re picking up.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.