7 Immigrants Win Nefesh B’Nefesh Prizes For Israel

JERUSALEM (JTA) — Seven immigrants to Israel from English-speaking countries have been awarded the 2017 Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize.

The $10,000 prizes announced Tuesday are awarded to English-speaking immigrants who have made a major contribution the State of Israel. The prizes will be awarded at an official ceremony at the Knesset at the end of June.

The honorees include: Professor Benjamin W. Corn, head of the Institute of Radiotherapy at Ichilov Hospital in the field of Science & Medicine; Beth Steinberg, director and co-founder of ShutafInclusion Programs and  artistic director and co-founder of Theater in the Rough in the field of Community & Non-Profit; Rabbi Chaim Brovender, founder and Rosh Yeshiva of in the field of Education; Professor Gerald Steinberg, president of NGO Monitor and Professor of Political Studies at Bar Ilan University in the field of Israel Advocacy; and Yoram Raanan,contemporary Jewish artist in the field of Culture, Art & Sports.

In addition, Lifetime Achievement Awards were announced for  Professor Alice Shalvi and Professor Eliezer Jaffe.

A Young Leadership Prize also was  awarded to Captain Libby Weiss, head of the Social Media Department in the IDF Spokesperson’s Unit, and to Scott Neiss, founder and executive director of the Israel Lacrosse Association.

This story "7 Immigrants Win Nefesh B’Nefesh Prizes For Israel" was written by JTA.

Recommend this article

7 Immigrants Win Nefesh B’Nefesh Prizes For Israel

Thank you!

This article has been sent!