Skip To Content
Get Our Newsletter

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe

Will Richard Spencer Be ‘Texan Of The Year’?

The Dallas Morning News has listed Richard Spencer as a finalist for its “Texan of the Year” designation. Other finalists include first responders to the Sutherland Springs church shooting and major Texas philanthropists.

Spencer, the face of American white nationalism, is a Dallas native, though he now lives in Virginia.

“His speeches and writings represent a new breed of white supremacy that seeks to sound mainstream while adhering to the same ugliness spouted by the likes of former KKK leader David Duke,” the Morning News’ editorial board wrote.

“This designation is not meant as an award but as recognition of those Texans who had uncommon impact, which can be a positive or negative impact, during the past year,” the editorial continued.

The editorial adds that Spencer has had success in packaging his message of white nationalism by appealing to economically disadvantaged whites. They also noted the violent tendencies of his followers and Spencer’s role in the Charlottesville riots in August, which resulted in the death of one woman.

The Salt Lake Tribune recently named Utah Senator Orrin Hatch “Utahn Of The Year” for his negative impact. The paper cited the role Hatch played in “dismantling” the Bears Ears monument and his leadership of the Senate Finance Committee in changing the tax code.




Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free under an Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives Creative Commons license as long as you follow our republishing guidelines, which require that you credit Foward and retain our pixel. See our full guidelines for more information.

To republish, copy the HTML, which includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline, and credit to Foward. Have questions? Please email us at

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.