Skip To Content

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe
Fast Forward

U Of Illinois student government president vetoes divestment resolution

(JTA) — The president of the University of Illinois student government vetoed a resolution passed by the body last week that supports the Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions movement against Israel.

At a cabinet meeting Sunday, Connor Josellis said the remarks made Wednesday evening during discussion of the resolution and in the aftermath of its passage “have made students feel unsafe and have fostered a climate of hate on this campus,” the Daily Illini student newspaper reported.

The university released a statement following the vote noting that the resolution was nonbinding and had no plans to act on it.

The 20-9 vote in favor of the resolution early Thursday morning followed a five-hour meeting of the student government on the Urbana-Champaign campus. There were seven abstentions.

The resolution, which had 22 sponsors, calls on the university to divest from “companies that profit from human-rights violations in Palestine and other communities globally.” It names three companies that do business in Israel: Raytheon, Elbit Systems Ltd. and Northrup Grumman.

An amendment removing references to Israel lost in a 22-11 vote with six abstentions.

The post U of Illinois student government president vetoes divestment resolution appeared first on Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free, unless it originated with JTA, Haaretz or another publication (as indicated on the article) and as long as you follow our guidelines. You must credit the Forward, retain our pixel and preserve our canonical link in Google search.  See our full guidelines for more information, and this guide for detail about canonical URLs.

To republish, copy the HTML by clicking on the yellow button to the right; it includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline and credit to the Forward. It does not include images; to avoid copyright violations, you must add them manually, following our guidelines. Please email us at [email protected], subject line “republish,” with any questions or to let us know what stories you’re picking up.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.