Bernstein Book Award Finalists Include Masha Gessen, Joshua Green by the Forward

Bernstein Book Award Finalists Include Masha Gessen, Joshua Green

The finalists for this year’s Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism, awarded annually by the New York Public Library, include Masha Gessen, Jessica Bruder and Joshua Green.

The award, established in 1988, comes with a prize of $15,000. This year’s winner will be announced on May 21.

Masha Gessen’s “The Future is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia”, Jessica Bruder’s “Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-First Century”, Joshua Green’s “Devil’s Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency”, Sheela Kolhatkar’s “Black Edge: Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street” and Dan Egan’s “The Death and Life of the Great Lakes” are the finalists for this year’s prize.

The 2017 prize was awarded to Jane Mayer for “Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right.” The prize is named for the journalist Helen Bernstein Fealy.

This story "Bernstein Book Award Finalists Include Masha Gessen" was written by Talya Zax.


Talya Zax

Talya Zax

Talya Zax is the Forward’s deputy culture editor. Contact her at or on Twitter, @TalyaZax.

Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

Bernstein Book Award Finalists Include Masha Gessen, Joshua Green

Thank you!

This article has been sent!