For centuries, Ashkenazi Jews have been forbidden to eat rice, legumes and corn on Passover.
Got the green-light to eat rice, beans and legumes? Here are some dishes to incorporate into your Passover-week menus.
This year, the Passover menus of many American Jews may feature rice and beans or sushi for the first time, thanks to new rules taking them off the list of foods forbidden during the elaborate meals prepared for the long holiday, which begins on Friday.
The heritage of Sephardic Jews does not exist just to make the Passover practices of our Ashkenazi neighbors less burdensome and expensive, and more delicious and nutritious, Arielle Levites writes.
As distinctive practices within Judaism diminish, Jane Eisner wonders how responsible she is for maintaining traditions — like avoiding rice and legumes on Passover — that she only recently reclaimed.
Why do some Jews consider beans, peas, lentils and other legumes off-limits for Passover? Philologos explains what the great kitniyot fight has to do with the Legume War of 1868.
Quinoa has been deemed kosher for Passover. A rabbi’s fact-finding mission to the Andes determined it should not be confused with forbidden grains or kitniyot.
It’s time for the annual conundrum over kitniyot - legumes - a Passover legacy that has divided Ashkenazi Jews and those of Sephardic-North African origin for generations - and has been the source of vehement debates and no small share of humor.
FORWARD EDITORIAL: This Passover, whether we consume items now considered kitniyot, we hope all of us will recognize the validity of those who practice Judaism differently.
The South American grain quinoa is trendy. But the Orthodox Union will not certify it as kosher for Passover because it looks similar to grains proscribed on the holiday.