Skip To Content
Get Our Newsletter

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe

Paul Auster, Arundhati Roy Lead Man Booker Prize Longlist

Paul Auster’s gargantuan novel “4 3 2 1” is one of 13 novels to make the longlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize.

The list, a who’s-who of contemporary literature, also includes previous Man Booker-winner Arundhati Roy for her sophomore novel “The Ministry of Utmost Happiness,” Colson Whitehead for his Pulitzer Prize-winning “The Underground Railroad,” George Saunders for “Lincoln in the Bardo,” and Zadie Smith for “Swing Time.”

The Man Booker Prize, awarded annually to the best novel of that year written in English and published in the United Kingdom, is distinct from the Man Booker International Prize, awarded for a year’s best novel in translation. The 2017 Man Booker International Prize was awarded to David Grossman and translator Jessica Cohen for “A Horse Walks Into a Bar.”

Paul Beatty won the 2016 Man Booker Prize for his novel “The Sellout.” Writing on the novel before its win, the Forward’s Adam Langer posited that Beatty might be the next Philip Roth.

Previous Jewish winners of the prize include Howard Jacobson, in 2010, for “The Finkler Question,” and Bernice Rubens, in 1970, for “The Elected Member.”

The shortlist for the prize will be announced on September 13, and the winner on October 17.




Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free under an Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives Creative Commons license as long as you follow our republishing guidelines, which require that you credit Foward and retain our pixel. See our full guidelines for more information.

To republish, copy the HTML, which includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline, and credit to Foward. Have questions? Please email us at

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.