Author Nathan Shaham to Receive Israel Prize by the Forward

Author Nathan Shaham to Receive Israel Prize

Image by Wiki Commons

Crossposted from Haaretz

Nathan Shaham, 87, playwright and author of more than 55 books will receive this year’s Israel Prize for Hebrew Literature and Poetry. Shaham has already received the prestigious Shlonsky Award, the Bialik Award, and Acum Award for lifetime achievement.

In addition to his literary career Shaham served in several public positions including Deputy Chairman of the Israeli Broadcasting Authority, Israeli Cultural Attaché to New York, and CEO of the Sifriat Poalim Publishing Group.

The prize committee that selected Shaham for the prize said he was one of the most prominent authors of the generation of Israeli founders. The committee added that “from the outset of his career Shaham stood out for his rich and colorful work – in literature, plays, non-fiction, biography and autobiography. His achievements in the field of literature, in our eyes, deem him worthy of the Israel Prize.“



Author Nathan Shaham to Receive Israel Prize

Your Comments

The Forward welcomes reader comments in order to promote thoughtful discussion on issues of importance to the Jewish community. All readers can browse the comments, and all Forward subscribers can add to the conversation. In the interest of maintaining a civil forum, The Forward requires that all commenters be appropriately respectful toward our writers, other commenters and the subjects of the articles. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. Egregious commenters or repeat offenders will be banned from commenting. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason.

Recommend this article

Author Nathan Shaham to Receive Israel Prize

Thank you!

This article has been sent!