Skip To Content
Get Our Newsletter

Support the Forward

Funded by readers like you DonateSubscribe

Ariana Harwicz, Laurent Binet Make Longlist For 2018 Man Booker International Prize

The longlist for the 2018 Man Booker International Prize, announced today, includes a novel by Javier Ceras about Enric Marco, the Spanish man who spent three decades pretending to have survived two Nazi concentration camps; “Flights,” the latest outing of Olga Tokarczuk, whose previous book “The Books of Jacob” was an epic historical novel about Poland’s Jewish community; and the most recent novel of Laurent Binet, who won the 2010 Prix Goncourt for “HHhH,” his fictionalized account of the 1942 assassination of the powerful Nazi Reinhard Heydrich.

Also on the longlist are Ariana Harwicz for her novel “Die, My Love,” Antonio Muñoz Molina for “Like A Fading Shadow,” and László Krasznahorkai for “The World Goes On.”

The Man Booker International Prize, established in 2016, is an annual award presented to the year’s best work of fiction published in English translation. The prize is split between authors and their English translators; last year’s winners were David Grossman and Jessica Cohen for Grossman’s novel “A Horse Walks Into a Bar.”

A shortlist of finalists for the award will be announced on April 4, and this year’s winner will be announced on May 22. Find the full longlist here.




Republish This Story

Please read before republishing

We’re happy to make this story available to republish for free under an Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives Creative Commons license as long as you follow our republishing guidelines, which require that you credit Foward and retain our pixel. See our full guidelines for more information.

To republish, copy the HTML, which includes our tracking pixel, all paragraph styles and hyperlinks, the author byline, and credit to Foward. Have questions? Please email us at

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.